The Liebster Award

Ah, much thanks to Shannon and Emma for nominating my blog for the Liebster Award! I’m truly honored. ❤ I love reading sim blogs, and now with this award floating around, I am able to discover even more!

liebster-award-300-px

Accepting the nomination comes with these conditions:

1. Post the award on your blog.

2. Thank the blogger who presented the award and link back to their blog.

3. Nominate 5-11 bloggers whom you feel deserve this award and have fewer than or equal to 3,000 followers.

4. Answer 11 questions posted by the nominator, and ask your nominees 11 questions.

My Answers to Emma’s Questions:
1. What do you find most gratifying about sharing your Sims’ stories?
I like the community, a huge portion of people that love the sims, share their stories, care about yours?! Best fandom ever! I just love being apart of it, even in a small way.

2. What’s one thing you’ve always wanted to do in the Sims but never got around to?
I just really want some more diversity in my genetics. I’d like some red haired born sims for starters, but I have quite a few families in the background that I’m really hoping get to join playable rank soon. I also really want to build a stable, and have a horse set up, but I can’t ever pull the trigger on which horses to download. (I’m finally getting my farmer out of Elias McCarthy though, so I can be patient!)

3. What’s one thing you’ve read that has changed your way of experiencing or understanding life?
“Daughter of Smoke and Bone” by Laini Taylor altered my very perception of people. The largest impact for me was in regards to souls in the book, and being placed in a body that might not match the inner beauty held within. I’ve never been one to mock others for the way they looked, and have been very bristled by that behavior in others, but it softened me even more in this regard.

4. How do you manage to keep up with reading all the blogs that you read?
I’m terribly behind right now. We just finished school, so I should be back on top soon. I usually try to read once a week, but my routine is so lost that it’s just a mere memory. Currently I’m trying to squeeze some updates in before bed, at least once a week.

5. What’s your favorite part about blogging?
Sharing stories, and having people who can understand and appreciate, like “Oh my sim has totally done that too!” or all the sharing, like how to even do heights at the beginning, I still use Laura’s height chart(!), ROS, and just sharing how we all play and rotate, decorate, and what works for our games; it totally revolutionized the way I play, and inspired me to blog. So the sharing is my favorite part! 🙂

6. What is your favorite Sim game (1, 2, 3 or 4) and favorite expansion?
Sims 2 without thought. I haven’t tried TS4, TS1 was ages ago, and TS3 is okay. I have played TS3 in the past, but not for a year or more.

7. What music inspires you?
For writing, I usually listen to stations on Pandora: Film Scores, The Lumineers, and Band of Horses, because they are mellow and not demanding of my attention. But for life, I love hard rock music: blood pumping, wind in the hair, belting out tunes, and the concerts!

8. What do you hope to express in your Sims stories?
Relationships. At the core of what I like to write about, it’s all about relationships, and an empathy for all. Family, friendships, I’m interested in all types, and that’s what I hope to express in my writing.

9. What’s one of the funniest things that has happened to you or your Sims while Simming?
I’m drawing such a blank… I saved this question for more than a day, and I’m still completely hopeless. Recently, I was humored by Alice counseling Ella, both have never partaken in woohoo, but Alice is intent to talk about it. I shared these at N99 recently, but it’s all I can think of! (I know as soon as I publish this, I will have ten new stories! Such is the way.) Pictures : Alice and Ella discussing:: Ella’s amazing expression

10. What inspires you to continue Simming and blogging when you think about stopping?
I can’t say that I’ve considered stopping. I have had to take breaks, and fallen out of inspiration for periods of time, but reading others’ blogs have always brought me right back as soon as I was able.

11. What else would you like to share with us that I haven’t asked?
I enjoy conversing, and reading others’ stories, so if you read mine, and have your own blog, but don’t comment, please do! Then I can find your blog, and read about your sims too. Conversations, and meeting others that sim is my next favorite part of this community outside of all the sharing of ideas, concepts, charts, and pictures.

My Answers for Shannon’s Questions:
What’s you all-time favorite place in the world? (If you don’t feel comfortable giving the location, just a description).
My husband. He is my home and heart. We move every few years, and I don’t have a “home” (outside of Chicago, which always has a piece of my heart), but he’s my heart and home, I can be anywhere when he is near.

Who is your favorite, non-sims author?
This is crazy talk! I don’t know how to even begin choosing a favorite author; it’s incomprehensible. I mentioned Laini Taylor above, Rainbow Rowell is always touching, Roald Dahl & Beverly Cleary for children’s author, Karen Marie Moning’s Fever series (Ohmy!), and Sim blog book writers like Shana Norris, Laura Rae Amos, and I intend to read Emma’s book this year too. I go through phases of what genre and which authors, I’ve enjoyed reading classic horror novels recently, Shirley Jackson was good, King is well… top in horror. 🙂

I’m on goodreads, and I’d enjoy being anyone’s friend on there, and sharing books, and reviews.

When did you start playing Sims?
Back when TS1 was released. My friend got a demo before it was released, she showed it to me, and I spent the entire time wanting to steal the mouse from her hands and make that sim guy clean up his house! I was hooked!

What is your favorite part of playing or blogging sims?
I mentioned this one above, it’s totally the sharing aspect. I wouldn’t have played this long and enjoyed it so thoroughly without other blogs out there, and the kind community.

What is your least favorite part of playing or blogging sims?
Being behind in reading other blogs. I feel poorly when I’m not caught up, especially for those that are so kind to comment on mine. Just know that if I am behind, I will catch up, I use feedly to keep track of what is new, so I won’t miss anything.

Where do you find/get inspiration for your blog’s characters?
Just like anything I write, things I see, feel, or think up, and some parts are based on people I know, while the sims themselves are a large portion of it. I really adore how the sims can really come alive and make decisions especially with the help of ACR.

What about the setting, how did you come up with the imaginary aspects of your sims’ world?
South Port – based on a merging of Seattle and Chicago, two cities I adore. I’ve only visited Seattle though, so that’s more terrain (with the sound for instance and the island like Bainbridge), whereas my build style is more of Chicago, cause I grew up there, and still get chills driving up to the city.

Millwood – is based on a small mountain town… but really it’s my Mom’s farm community that she moved to after I went off to college. That small town with all its gossip, and relationships is fascinating to me. My sisters grew up there for the most part, and I am just baffled by the small town dynamics. Can’t even imagine living it! I love the idea of a small town… not so much the reality (I think, as I’ve never lived in a truly small one to know).

How did you decide to start blogging about your game?
I read Carla’s blog. She’s to blame for all this madness! ❤ 🙂

Do you know any simmers in your everyday life, or just online?
My eldest shares Millwood with me, all my girls play the sims free play, and two play TS3. My Mom and I used to create CC for Sims 2 way back in the beginning, and had a site together. That was fun. But she doesn’t play anymore.

On a scale of 1 to 10 (10 being completely), how freaked out are you when the power/internet go out and you can’t play or read or write about sims?
Some of my most fond memories were during power outages, at night we light tons of candles and play some board games. During the day, there are always books to read and in the south, we would lose power regularly on beautiful sunshine days, so we’d just go outside to enjoy the sunshine. But I will admit that at first, I feel very lost… so much relies on electricity! 🙂

All time favorite sims moment?
Some of my favorite moments have come from ROS, or the game. Like when Annie Carver died, I was broken up over saving, and I still wonder what might have been… but I think it has made Ella’s story that much richer (and goodness I adore Ella, her sim is just so darn miserable, and grumpy all the time!). It’s those moments though, when things happen that I wouldn’t have planned, or when ROS takes action, that bring a new dimension and level of interest in the game for me. Charlie Grimsley only existed because I rolled the ROS for Tim to have a brother move in… then Cara wouldn’t have married him, there’d be no adorable Lulu or Jake ether.

My Nominees: (I tried to limit to blogs that have posted this year, and these are in no particular order, as I used my reader to try and not miss any.)

Laura from Postcards from Sierra Nova
Sari from Wellington Sims
Simnovoris from Barchester County
Carla from Sullivan Sims
Fini from Newtopia Heights
Jane from Richmond
Asha from Riverdale
Mao from Aperture Valley (though she’s on hiatus being a Mommy) 🙂
Starr from Apple Valley
Shana from Pine Hollow (she may not blog much these days, but she was also a major influence in my start of blogging sims)
Laurel Crossing
Annastesia from World of Sims
Dee with the Challenge Family
Kulo Seeri
Jen from La Quest Beach

I would totally nominate Shannon and Emma right back too! But I’m not sure that’s how it works, lol!

My Questions: (borrowing some from the others)
1. What is your favorite part of your sims & your neighborhood?
2. What are you really good at, be in regards to the game, real life, work, anything?
3. How do you relax or unwind after a trying day?
4. Favorite vacation or vacation you’d love to take?
5. What projects do you have planned or hope to accomplish for your game?
6. How large is your sims CC folder?
7. What is your blogging and playing process? (Write first, plan, play first…)
8. What is your favorite family tradition ether now, or from childhood?
9. Where do you find your inspiration for buildings (community/residential) that you build/decorate?
10. Favorite pizza toppings?
11. What’s your favorite season in real life and in the sims game?

12 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. I love your answer about your favorite place in the world– your husband! I’ve moved a lot in my life, too, and we were just talking the other day about how home is wherever we are. When I imagine my Thai beach vacation, my husband is definitely there! And that is so cool that your daughters and even your mom have shared this hobby with you. I always enjoyed Mao’s work in the past and wondered where she was.

    1. I know you are on twitter, Mao is on there too, I follow her if you need her name. I’m currently locked out of my account cause I forgot my password that I forgot… reset it… then apparently forgot. Good grief. Bane of my internet existence!

      A Thai beach vacation with your husband sounds amazing! I loved our Bahama vacation last summer, and can’t wait to visit Jamaica this summer with him. I do wish my Mom still played, she got a new computer (old one died and killed the playing), but she only has TS3 on it, and had a difficult time adapting to it, and I play it so very little that I was useless to her. I have to help her set up TS2 when I go back for my sisters wedding if there is time.

      Thank you again for the nomination and your friendship, Shannon!

  2. Loved your answers! Like Shannon, I love your answers for favorite place–so sweet. There’s this great little folky song I love, “Home, I’m going home! Home’s wherever I’m alone with you!” Sometimes I sing it driving home from the office, even though I’ve been away from home–and Jim–for only six and a half hours!

    I’m also mildly–ok, very much–freaking out, because I was finally feeling like I was almost, just about able to keep up with my Sims reading–and now I see that nearly all the blogs you’ve nominated are new to me! So much to read, so few eyes…

    1. I am going to look that song up as soon as I catch up on comments here. I don’t know if I’ve heard it before, but if I have, it’s not jumping to the front of my memory. I melt in a puddle when I hear “Can’t Help Falling in Love” (Ingrid Michaelson’s version, cause she’s a girl like me, but we had Elvis’ version for our wedding.) – eta: yep I know that song! I like it too!

      All the new blogs is a huge plus for me! Especially TS4 ones, because I’m not in that branch of the community, as I’ve never even played. But I find the stories that much more fascinating because I have no idea what is story and what is game-play, and I really have enjoyed that aspect. Thank you for commenting cathytea!

  3. Thanks for the nomination, Maisie! I’m in the process of writing up answers to your questions. Emma and Shannon also nominated me, so I’m doing the questions in separate posts, because it was getting absurdly long with all my babbling. 😉

    I’m so with you on the sharing aspect. That is such a huge thing for me. It’s probably the biggest thing, actually. I feel like it was what was missing from my game play all these years. I wish I’d started earlier!

    1. I can’t wait to catch up on blogs and read your posts this weekend! Sounds like a nice way to split it up into separate posts, I wasn’t quite sure how to do it all myself.

      I’m glad that you enjoy the sharing, because you’ve been a huge inspiration for me, and if you didn’t enjoy sharing then I wouldn’t be at this point! I wish I had started earlier too, I don’t know why I didn’t. I know N99 used to have the self-sim sharing (TS1 days), and while someone used my self-sim to be a musician and made a great story, I never really jumped in to that aspect at all, not even in TS2. Thank you Carla!

  4. I actually love that these posts are going around right now, because 1.) I’m in a little lull between drafts, so I’m not crazy busy, and 2.) because I’ve felt so out of touch with the sim-blogging community the past few years, it’s nice to find new blogs and see that lots of people are still doing this! And all the questions are wonderful. Look at how cute you are with your hubby being your home. ❤ I totally get that feeling of "home is where the heart is" because we've done our fair share of moving in the past 10 years, too.

    I am always jealous of people who know other simmers in real life. Nobody I know plays any version of the game, and nobody really gets why I do, either, lol!

    Thank you for the nomination. I do intend to answer your questions, too. I will do that after I post my next story piece, because it's a three-parter and I'm fussy about needing to keep the parts together. 😉

    1. Time to get D simming I say! 🙂 Have you had him try it out at all? I do not play Freeplay, but I know it’s a hit with the kids here, and their friends. We just started SimCity BuildIt as a family, and it’s been a big hit with my son, who does not play Sims.

      I’m excited about all the blog nominations and to find new blogs too. So many of my favorites have actually stopped blogging altogether, and it’s nice to be able to find new (to me) bloggers. Thank you Laura!

  5. First of all, “Thank You” for the nomination! I had to wipe my eyes several times to make sure I was actually seeing my site listed. 🙂 Seriously, you are just too sweet! I feel like such a “newbie” (and not Betty Newbie) on here with my little rinky-dink story.

    Secondly, your answers were Great to all of the questions! I also loved the “husband” answer as it would definitely be my answer also. I will post your questions and answers as soon as I have some extra time as I smile while typing this because I’m still in disbelief. Also, to make you smile, I will add you to my Goodreads once I remember my password. Hehe!!!

    1. You are quite welcome Annastesia! I have enjoyed reading your updates thus far, and I hope that you keep them coming! All of these stories start out small, and in their own way. I look back to my beginnings and totally cringe! It’s an evolution, and yours is good!

      Looking forward to seeing you on Goodreads too, and your responses too! Thank you Annastesia!

Thanks for commenting!

